Care and Support Minister Norman Lamb has announced 14 integration pioneer areas, which will lead the way in health and social care integration.

Pioneers of Health & Care Reform

Chosen by a panel of experts the pioneer areas are listed in a Government press release which can be read here. The pioneer programme is part of the policy drive to make coordinated care the norm, following the Minister’s announcement earlier this year of an Integration Transformation Fund of £3.8 billion to support integrated health and care. The fund will be available in 2015 but already the planning has started across the country. The details of the fourteen areas leading the way in delivering better joined up care are:

  1. Barnsley
  2. Cheshire
  3. Cornwall and Isles of Scilly
  4. Greenwich
  5. Islington
  6. Leeds
  7. Kent
  8. North West London
  9. North Staffordshire
  10. South Devon and Torbay
  11. Southend
  12. South Tyneside
  13. Waltham Forest and East London and City
  14. Worcestershire

Home care providers like HomeCareDirect will want to keep an eye out for local opportunities to get involved in the pilot areas and elsewhere, as this initiative is rolled out, an exciting time for us all and runs in line with a lot of the work we have been doing over the last few years.

Let us know your thoughts by getting in touch with us here.