Go back to results

Telford & Wrekin Council

Civic Offices Telford TF3 4WZ
Phone: 0195 2380000
Web Site: www.telford.gov.uk

Telford and Wrekin is a unitary district with borough status in the West Midlands region of England. The district was created in 1974 as The Wrekin, then a non-metropolitan district of Shropshire. In 1998 the district became a unitary authority and was renamed Telford and Wrekin. It remains part of the Shropshire ceremonial county and shares institutions such as the Fire and Rescue Service with the rest of Shropshire.

The borough’s major settlement is Telford, a new town designated in the 1960s incorporating the existing towns of Dawley, Madeley, Oakengates and Wellington. The next largest population centre is Newport, a market town to the north of Telford. With the Ironbridge Gorge, the Wrekin and the River Severn all prominent features of the borough, it’s no surprise that Telford and Wrekin has a host of activities for the young and old! From a visit to one of the 10 Ironbridge Gorge Museums to swinging with the monkeys at Jungleland, there’s something for all the family.

HomeCareDirect services are available to you if you live in the Telford and Wrekin area, we can help you choose who your carers are and when they come into your home to provide your care, HomeCareDirect can take away all the hassle of arranging your care at home whilst leaving you with all the choice and control.  Please get in touch with us to find our more – we’re always happy to help with any questions you may have.